Board of Directors

Wisconsin Society of Anesthesiologists
Board of Directors
2020 - 2021

Executive Committee 

Elizabeth Yun, MD

Associate Professor (CHS)
University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health

Pediatric Anesthesia

Nicholson_1.JPGImmediate Past President
James Nicholson, MD

Aurora Sheboygan Medical Center

• Graduate UW Medical School
• Residency Yale - New Haven Hospital

Member of:
• President - County Medical Society

Areas of Interest:
• Practice includes interventional pain medicine, collaborative OR anesthesia and obstetrical anesthesia.

Michael Bottcher, MD


Christina Diaz, MD, FASA

Pediatric Anesthesiologist

Children's Hospital of Wisconsin

Member of:
• Executive Committee of the AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics - Anesthesia and Pain Section)
• ASA Committee on Pediatric Anesthesia
• ASA Educational Track Subcommittee on Pediatric Anesthesia
• ASA Committee on Anesthesiologist Assistant Education and Practice

Focus/Areas of Interest:

• Assistant Program Director - Focus on Resident/ Fellow/ and AA education

• Simulation Education

Lee_4.JPGAssistant Secretary-Treasurer
Jeffrey Lee, MD


 Regional Directors - Click here for a map of regions!

13087735_10153949329806005_8109518073203734352_n.jpgDistrict Director Region 1

Barbara Meinecke, MD, FASA


District Director Region 2
Brent Boettcher, DO

Assistant Professor of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology
Division Director-Transplant Anesthesia
Medical College of Wisconsin

Member of:
• ASA Committee on Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesia
• ASA Educational Track Subcommittee on Cardiac Anesthesia

District Director Region 3

Jeffrey Lee, MD


District Director Region 4
Christopher Howson, MD



District Director Region 5
Joshua Johnston, MD 

Staff Anesthesiologist
Gundersen Health System
La Crosse, WI



ASA District Delegation 

ASA District Director
Lois Connolly, MD

Medical Director, Master of Science in Anesthesia
Department of Anesthesiology
Medical College of Wisconsin 

Clinical subspecialties:
• Liver transplantation and Neuroanesthesia 

• Chair of ASA Committee on Quality Management and Departmental Administration 

• ASA Alternate District Director
• Member of ASA Committee on Practice Management 
• Commissioner, NCCAA

ASA Alternate District Director
Justin Tawil, MD

Strosin_1.JPGASA/WSA PAC Representative
Joe Strosin, MD


ASA Delegates


(WSA President):
Elizabeth Yun, MD

(WSA Past President):
James Nicholson, MD

(WSA President-Elect):
Michael Bottcher, MD

(ASA Alternate District Director): 
Justin Tawil, MD 



(WSA Elected Position):
Christina Diaz, MD

(WSA Elected Position):
Deborah Rusy, MD, MBA, FASA

Professor of Anesthesiology
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Subspecialties: Neuroanesthesia, Pediatric Anesthesia

Director of Perioperative Services: American Family Children’s Hospital

Member of:
• ASA Committee on Anesthesiologist Assistant Education and Practice-Chair
• ASA Committee on Neuroanesthesia • ASA Committee on Pediatric Anesthesia
• ASA Committee on Global Humanitarian Outreach

(ASA/WSA PAC Representative):
Joe Strosin, MD



ASA Alternate Delegates  

Kristin Bevil, MD
Jared Hylton, MD

Jeffrey Kirsch, MD, FASA
Kyle Nichols, MD
Joshua Sebranek, MD
Kushal Shah, DO, BA
Amit Singh, DO


Wisconsin Medical Society

Delegate to WMS

Alaa Abd-Elsayed, MD

Alternate Delegate to WMS

James Nicholson, MD


Resident Directors

MCW Resident Director
Braeden O'Neill, DO

UW Resident Director
Jeremy Grate, MD

WSA Lobbyist
Greg Hubbard and AJ Wilson
Hubbard Wilson & Zelenkova, LLC

WSA Management


Executive Director
Marie Odden


Account Coordinator
Anna Otto